Fall For Me by JC Emery Book Review

unnamed (1)

AMAZON: http://amzn.to/1BYDsQU

Blurb: 

Melanie Kincaid is a trust-fund baby with a knack for sassy comebacks and unnecessarily complicating her privileged life. So, of course she would have to fall in love with a man she can’t have.

Jameson Hayes is a NYC firefighter for Manhattan’s oldest ladder company with big shoes to fill and a city to protect. He’s strong, sexy, and not looking for the complications Melanie brings. But he can’t stay away from her either. The attraction between them is immediate and the pull between them is crazy powerful. But she’s only home for the summer and long-distance relationships never work.

Unfortunately, Melanie’s beauty and smart mouth are a lethal combination and Jameson isn’t the only Hayes who’s interested. As if his brother isn’t enough to compete with, now the city’s most famous arsonist wants to claim her as his next prize. Jameson can’t stand to watch Melanie get hurt and she can’t seem to keep herself out of trouble.

Fall for Me is the first Ladder Company novel, a stand-alone companion series about New York’s most elite firefighting family with hot alpha heroes, snarky heroines, and an arsonist hell-bent on destruction.

Melanie’s 3-Star Review:

A book about a firefighter and heroine whose name is Melanie…. How could I possibly not want to pick this up??? I really enjoyed this book, loved the angst of the cat and mouse chase that take place throughout the entire book.

The connection between Melanie and Jameson is instantaneous, totally love at first sight but unfortunately for the both of them, timing isn’t on their side. With Jameson in a long-term though crumbing relationship, Melanie is dead set on keeping him in the “good guy” category so instead of acting on their feelings, they end up in the friend zone all the while tempting one another to the brink of insanity. I myself felt dizzy from the back and forth between these two where at times the tension caused such an upheaval of emotions to course through me. I really liked Melanie’s character because she seemed genuinely good and free of malice. A chatter box in her own right, there were many times in this book where I’d find myself giggling at the things that would come out of her mouth.

There were some scenes in this book that absolutely took my breath away for the mere fact that the author had made them so real and one in particular that stands out to me was the blowout between Jameson and his long time live in girlfriend, Lyda. I was impressed by how intense the entire scene played out all the while keeping every emotion that flickered on their faces and the lethal, heart breaking words that were spewed so unbelievably believable. I’m not sure exactly why that resonated so much with me but I think it was because of how honest the whole thing played out. It was odd and again just very impressionable. Another thing that stood out to me was that the author kept my attention with the back and forth between Melanie and Jameson sans “hottie tottie” scenes.

So what’s with the 3 stars? Well, there were also many times in this book that seemed jumbled up, moments I found myself lost because I had no idea what anyone was talking about. The dialogue a bit too fast paced for my taste which I think was why I found myself having to turn back on certain parts of the book. But what really did me in was how the book ended. I kept pressing my Kindle screen thinking “there has to be more!” and it wasn’t even a dang cliffhanger! It was sorta just hanging wide open and I was so confused like I felt robbed of my time and of my investment in the characters and their story. I don’t know.. Quite frankly, days after finishing I’m still really baffled by it. I understand that this is book 1 of a series but I also understand that the series follows all the Hayne’s brothers so it’s not as if Melanie and Jameson’s story will specifically continue so why the rush at the end of the story and why wasn’t there closure? Sigh. To make matters worse, the element of suspense that was just starting to blaze was quickly doused without answers.

So while I liked the majority of this book, I wish that the take-off was as good as the lead up because I wanted Jameson to finally prove himself to be  that good guy that Melanie deserved and I wanted to see so much more of how their story together unfolded.

About the author:

As a child, JC was fascinated by things that went bump in the night. As they say, some things never change. Now, as an adult, she divides her time between the sexy law men, mythical creatures, and kick-ass heroines that live inside her head and pursuing her bachelor’s degree in English. JC is a San Francisco Bay Area native, but has also called both Texas and Louisiana home. These days she rocks her flip flops year round in Northern California and can’t imagine a climate more beautiful.

JC writes adult, new adult, and young adult fiction. She dabbles in many different genres including science fiction, horror, chick lit, and murder mysteries, yet she is most enthralled by supernatural stories– and everything has at least a splash of romance.

Website http://www.jcemery.com

twitter username jc_emery

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-JC-Emery/301706559938830

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/JC-

Emery/e/B00BS32GHS/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6902956.J_C_Emery?from_search=true

JC Emery Fan Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/jcemeryreaders/

Leave a Reply

