Taking The Fall by Alexa Riley Bundle Review

bundle

My overall rating for this series is a 3 star.

25060093

Taking the Fall: Vol 1 (Taking the Fall #1)
by Alexa Riley

Stars: 3

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
Layla O’Leary has had enough. For years she has been haunted by the night she can’t remember. When she learns the only man she’s ever loved has betrayed her, she escapes and crafts a new identity. She’s finally free…

Carter has waited eight years to claim his woman. Locking him up only fueled his obsession. The day he gets out he’s coming for her. Taking the Fall was just the start. Now he’ll stop at nothing to possess what’s his.

Warning: this book contains a hero who grunts and growls his way through life, a heroine nicknamed Cherry looking to lose it, and instalove so fast and hard your panties might disintegrate. Note: not responsible for exploding panties.

Taking the Fall is a four part story. A new part will come out every two weeks. Please note the endings are NOT relationship cliffhangers. Layla is Carter’s.

PART 1- OUT NOW http://amzn.to/1DhLDrQ
PART 2- OUT NOT http://amzn.to/1Oey8DR
PART 3- May 6 (Conclusion of Carter & Layla)
PART 4- May 20 (Jeanette & Saint’s Story)

IMG_1086

I really don’t know I feel about this story. I guess you can say I’m 50/50 about it. I liked some parts and hated other parts of this book.

It was hard to read Carter’s over the top alpha male attitude. The things he said and how he acted with Layla were over the top.
We still don’t get a lot of answers as to why Layla woke up in the hospital all those years ago.

All we do know is that Carter has been keeping an eye on her the whole time he has been in prison.
The sex in this book was very strong and demanding. There was nothing sweet about it!…lol
Carter likes control and didn’t really give Layla any control at all.
But… he did make her feel good. I think she liked all his dirty talk and how he took charge in the bedroom.

I think the iffy parts for me was how Carter was always telling Layla how she owed him.
And how he was super possessive over her.
It was boarding to almost crazy!
Her sheets and pillow and even the hair on his body were all things he didn’t want to touch Layla’s body. Carter wanted nothing but his skin to be touching her skin.
I thought that was way over the top.
And I hated how he never let her talk. She just had to take it.
He just over all came on to strong.
I saw the ending coming a mile away. I knew that’s how she was going to end up.
Now I’m going to read volume 2 to see how it all plays out.

*ARC provided for an honest review*

25352592

Taking the Fall: Vol 2 (Taking the Fall #2)
by Alexa Riley

Stars: 2.5

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
Carter has finally claimed his woman and he’s never letting her go… Having her has only seemed to fuel his obsession.

Old demons are coming for Cherry and he’s doing everything in his power to protect her. Can he keep her safe while looking over his shoulder? Will her new secret send him over the edge? Can they find peace in chaos?

Maybe the very thing that started it all could give him more than he could have ever dreamed of.

Warning: Volume 2 contains more sexy hotness, sweet gooey love, and an alpha male who would do anything for his Cherry.

PART 1- OUT NOW http://amzn.to/1DhLDrQ
PART 2- OUT NOT http://amzn.to/1Oey8DR
PART 3- May 6 (Conclusion of Carter & Layla)
PART 4- May 20 (Jeanette & Saint’s Story)

IMG_1086

I was already 50/50 going into this book. I wasn’t 100% on board with Carter. I really wasn’t feeling the way he acted.
But… I went into this book open minded. I wanted Carter to change my mind about him.
He didn’t.

The spanking scene was a little much for me. Carter wasn’t doing it for fun or sexual way.
No…. He was doing it in a disciplinary way.
That’s what got to me.
The way he talks to Layla. The way he treats her in the bedroom is not sexy to me.
Not even a little.

I know Carter is supposed to be all alpha. But his kind of alpha is just not doing it for me.
I love a little give and take going on with my alpha MC. There is none of that going on between Layla and Carter.

And…. The ending of this second volume had me saying “REALLY”. Layla’s decision was truly unbelievable especially in her condition. All she had to do was wait for Carter.
But no… She thought she could take care of business.
This series is slowly fading for me.

*ARC provided for an honest review*

25444501

Taking the Fall: Vol 3 (Taking the Fall #3)
by Alexa Riley

Stars: 3

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
Carter has spent years protecting her from this man, but now Layla has fallen right into his hands. With his world crashing down around him, Carter won’t stop until he gets the vengeance he deserves. But will he succeed in saving the only person he has ever loved?

Warning: Vol. 3 contains triple the steam, triple the love, and triple the cheese. Not responsible for Kindles covered in Velveeta.

PART 1- OUT NOW (Carter & Layla)
PART 2- OUT NOT (Carter & Layla)
PART 3- OUT NOT(Conclusion of Carter & Layla)
PART 4- May 20th (Jeanette & Saint’s Full Story)

IMG_1086

I liked this story a little better than the last book. A lot more action. Layla finally gets all the answers to all her questions and so does Carter.
The connection between Layla and Carter is still strong as ever. I just wish Carter wasn’t so over the top with Layla.
It seemed the answer to all their questions and all distractions were dealt with sex.
There’s was ALOT of that going on between them.
Right when they would finish…. They were right back at it!
I don’t know how they got anything done!! Or have energy for anything else!…lol

I think the best part of this book for me was the very end of it. When we find out what happens to them after the story ends… And the epilogue.
I loved that part.
I don’t want to give anything away. But I saw a little give come from Carter. He listened to Layla.

Overall….
This was an ok read. If you have time to kill and are looking for a wham bam kind of book with a bit of action. Then this is the book for you.

*ARC provided for an honest review*

25486540

Falling In: Vol 4 (Taking the Fall #4)
by Alexa Riley

Stars: 4

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
Saint and Jeanette’s story.

They met by chance. Or so she thought…

Losing her wasn’t something he was willing to do. Sometimes life takes you to the edge, but Jeanette had a Saint to
catch her.

This is the short story of how they met, how they fell in love, and how much Saint loves going down on her.

IMG_1086

I enjoyed Jeanette’s and Saint story a lot! I loved how Saint was all alpha on Jeanette but at the same time… Behind closed doors. She had all the control. It felt even!
I must say…. I like her back story better than Laya’s and Carters.
I think cause Carter was just so over the top. I just couldn’t fully love him.

Jeanette was tough. She removed herself from a bad situation and started over from scratch. What she went through made her a stronger person.
I loved how she looked out for Layla too. She was a really good friend.

Saint….
Well we really don’t know a lot about him. Just that he’s Carters best friend. And he’s a hacker.
We get a little back story on him. Which was pretty sad! I felt bad for him. He was so patient with Jeanette. He knew how far to go with her.
And… he knew if she needed space and for things to go her way.

The sex was pretty spot on. Loved it! I just loved how Saint could play both roles for Jeanette. We get the hard side where he takes care of business….
Then we get the soft side where he will do anything for her.
I loved at the end of the book we get the kids story. I would like to read about them.

*ARC provided for an honest review*

 

8296969

I’m Alexa Riley! Mom, wife, and business woman by day and smut writer by night. I specialize in the Dirty Date Night reading. I wrote my first book, Owning Her Innocence, because well, I just couldn’t find any daddy books to my liking. So I sat down and just started writing, bringing the fantasies I find myself often dancing to in the dark of night to life, one page at a time.

Alexa Riley is my alter ego. I can’t let the other soccer moms know what I’m up to or the guys at work for that matter. Little do they know that they’ve got nothing on my dirty talk.

I’m here to give you a quick fix of filthy dirty smut. Got a few hours to kill? Then I’m what you’re looking for.

Leave a Reply

