Grey by EL James Book Review

unnamed

Blurb:

See the world of Fifty Shades of Grey anew through the eyes of Christian Grey.

In Christian’s own words, and through his thoughts, reflections, and dreams, E L James offers a fresh perspective on the love story that has enthralled millions of readers around the world.

Christian Grey exercises control in all things; his world is neat, disciplined, and utterly empty—until the day that Anastasia Steele falls into his office, in a tangle of shapely limbs and tumbling brown hair. He tries to forget her, but instead is swept up in a storm of emotion he cannot comprehend and cannot resist. Unlike any woman he has known before, shy, unworldly Ana seems to see right through him—past the business prodigy and the penthouse lifestyle to Christian’s cold, wounded heart.

Will being with Ana dispel the horrors of his childhood that haunt Christian every night? Or will his dark sexual desires, his compulsion to control, and the self-loathing that fills his soul drive this girl away and destroy the fragile hope she offers him?

This book is intended for mature audiences.

Melanie’s 5-NOSTALGIC Stars Review:

I need to start this review by thanking EL James for writing this book, for coming through for her fans who had asked for MORE. Fans like myself who never really thought we’d get Christian’s POV after the little bit of tease at the end of the 3rd FSoG book because c’mon when do big authors who have made it big really go back and listen to their avid fans begging on their hands and knees for a follow-up. Well, EL James did and I can kiss her for it and I hope she knows just how much this book means to people like me. People who enjoyed reading before but became relentless enthusiasts after reading this series. She brought such a beautiful aspect back into my life as she has done for many.

Reading already posted negative reviews about Grey breaks my heart just about as much as it did at the very end of the first book when those elevator doors closed between Ana and Christian. I can’t seem to move past the “copy and paste” comments; and like them, I too am not keen about authors doing that but the thing here is, readers should have expected some of this to take place in Grey because of the glimpse given at the end of the 3rd book when Christian was at Clayton’s. How can an author possibly change the storyline to something that was already written?? How do people expect something completely “new” when this is purely a POV change? What EL James successfully does even with the “copy and paste” is this—she has shown us a different light in this series, she has answered longing questions, and she has given us more. Christian’s POV gave new meaning to the series because FINALLY we get to see and hear from the enigmatic Mr. Grey and all of his 50 shades of f*ck-etry. There are also new scenes in this book (plenty of them) which we’d never seen in Anastasia’s POV and I ate them up. I stuffed my face silly with wonder reading through these new parts so I feel it’s really unfair for people to downplay what is pointedly new.

And you know the best part about all of this? She still managed to make me feel every bit of emotion I did when I first picked up this series. My goodness did I fall in love all over again with these two. My heart soared and crashed during scenes I already read about and what a beautifully stifling feeling to be able to find myself reinvigorated and completely lost in EL James’ story once again. It made me realize just why it was that this series awakened the literary hunger I never knew existed and why women finally had books that they actually loved to read and loved to get lost into; away from the more boring parts of their realities. This is the magic that this author has graciously given us.

So for my fellow FSoG enthusiasts, I know for a fact that you will love Grey merely because it is more of Christian and Ana and that in itself is EVERYTHING. This was money well spent in my case. I love EL James for gifting us such a novelty and for being so amazing as to following through with her POV tease. FSoG is a literary legend in which catapulted not only the genre but also the number of women “one-clicking” their way through bankruptcy. This review comes with a high recommendation from me and the greedy in me is BEGGING for 2 more from Ms. James because honestly, who wouldn’t want more?

We Like It Big Tunes:

The Weekend- Earned It

Leave a Reply

