Priest by Sierra Simone Book Review

unnamed

Release Date: 6/29/15

Goodreads Link: http://bit.ly/1Bb7HsO

Pre-Order:http://amzn.to/1ffuvxY

Blurb:

There are many rules a priest can’t break.
A priest cannot marry. A priest cannot abandon his flock. A priest cannot forsake his God.

I’ve always been good at following rules.
Until she came.
My name is Tyler Anselm Bell. I’m twenty-nine years old. Six months ago, I broke my vow of celibacy on the altar of my own church, and God help me, I would do it again.
I am a priest and this is my confession.

***Priest is a standalone, full-length novel with an HEA.  For mature audiences only.***

Melanie’s 5-BLASPHEMOUS Stars Review:

Let me take a moment to extinguish the fire surging through my body before we get this thing started because Holy Mary, Jesus, and St. Joseph, I am burning up!!!

Priest by Sierra Simone debased me, it made me uncomfortable in the best way possible. I’m going to put it out there, I’m a Catholic and attended Catholic school for a great portion of my younger years. I respect the sanctity of the religion and I am reverent in its beliefs but my goodness… I’ve got to say it, “Bless me Father for I have sinned” by reading this book and thoroughly loving every single sinful minute of it.

This book covers a very TABOO topic, something the author openly warns her perspective readers about and I went into this book having full knowledge of what I was in for and because I am a lover of topics that garner harsh whispers and shocked faces, I was excited to see where the author would take me. Sierra Simone took me to a level of blasphemy I couldn’t have fathomed. Some of the scenes in this book had me feeling conflicted; I was disturbed and yet I was squirming in my seat feeling the rush of heat travel to crown of my head. And that right there, that feeling of vulnerability and confusion is what defines a perfectly executed taboo topic book for me.

What impressed me so much about this author was her knack for accurate details about the Catholic church—the practices, the beliefs, and the struggles. It was well researched and eloquently written in many areas of the book. It gave a great picture of the Gothic and macabre aspects of the religion. But let’s be honest here, if you’re going to write a book about a priest breaking his vow of celibacy for a woman who paints her lips a bright red even the middle of the night, then you may as well make it as raunchy and perverse as possible. If you’re going to take your readers outside of the realities of life, you’re going to push boundaries and you’re going to want to make them feel as guilty as possible for finding the most blasphemous acts insanely sexy. And you know what?! Sierra Simone did JUST that! She effin’ demolished the “norm” with no regard or apologies. Father Bell and Poppy’s story was hungry and carnal and hot as the fires of hell. Were some of the scenes tawdry and gaudy?? Heck yeah they were and I’m not even sorry about enjoying those too! Priest is THAT book that makes you question yourself, the sort of book that will ultimately make you realize just how perverse of a person you may be and man, does rattle me a little. *insert Home Alone shocked face here* Though heavily lidded with the forbidden, there is also a sweet romance that takes place between Poppy and Father Tyler Bell. The highly debatable subject of the traditional practice of celibacy is obviously a huge highlight in this book and you truly feel for Tyler; you feel for the man beneath the holy cloth. You struggle alongside him for wanting to naturally love and be loved in the ways that us humans crave and us humans need to fully flourish and live. I loved this book for the sheer fact that it took me outside of my comfort zone and for making my girly bits feel like they’d been partying all night long. LOL.

So I have to put this out there. If you aren’t going to into this book with an open mind and with a pre-conceived notion of acceptance that this book isn’t “realistic” or if you’re a reader who is offended easily, then honestly this isn’t the book for you. If you’re willing to test your limits and looking for something of a debauchery, then you’ve got to do yourself a favor and pick up this book because again, Sierra Simone doesn’t hold back, she gives you exactly what a taboo book should be— unacceptable situations meant to make you feel uncomfortable about feeling so good about it.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Hallelujah- Damien Rice

About the Author:

71D32IgvjaL._UX250_

Sierra Simone is a former librarian who spent too much time reading romance novels at the information desk. She lives with her husband and family in Kansas City.

Leave a Reply

