Better When It Hurts (Stripped #2) by Skye Warren Review

BetterWhenItHurts-SkyeWarren-500x750-v2

Stars: 3

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
Five years ago we lived in the same house. He was the ultimate bad boy. And my foster brother.

Now he’s back. Tougher, harder, meaner. All of it aimed at me, because I was the one who sent him away. It’s payback time. He wants his pound of flesh, and I am helpless to say no.

IMG_1086

I have to admit…. I was questioning as to why we were getting Lola’s story first in this series. The prequel pretty much set the tone on how and what to expect from this series.
Who the key players were so to speak.
Which is Cara & Honor and Gio.

Having just read Love The Way You Lie.
We get the continuation of the prequel. And we get Honor’s story. What happened after they left the mansion. What Honor did to survive and to keep Clara safe.
I was hoping we would jump right into Clara’s story next… Keep the momentum going.

But… we get Blue’s and Lola story.
Two people that really didn’t play a big roll in book 1 in this series.
And…. I have to be honest. I had a hard time getting into this story.

I thought it was ok. But, I needed more.
I had a hard time connecting with Lola….aka Hanna. I hated how Hanna/ Lola kept switching between personalities.

Hanna… Would do anything to survive.
Lola… The whore… The person that could do anything to get by.
I just really wasn’t feeling it.

Blue… Hmmm… Well.
He protected Lola when she was stripping. He had a past with Hanna. She told a lie and got him in big trouble. He came back to get his payback from her.

77% into the book and she still wouldn’t tell Blue why she screwed him over. He had an idea as to why she did it.
But, I’m still not even sure why she did it.
She keeps saying “I can’t tell” him.
And I kept thinking…Omg… Tell him already!…lol

I didn’t feel the sex scenes in this book between them. I thought this one scene that involved spitting was to much!
Now… I’m not opposed to spitting. I just wasn’t feeling how it was played out in this book.

I know the author says you can read these books as standalones.
But, I don’t think you can. It wouldn’t make sense.
Once again… the prequel introduced you to all the characters. And had I not read the prequel first. I think I would have been lost. Honor and Clara’s story would not have made sense to me. Because the author did not really go into detail as to why they were on the run in Love The Way You Lie.
So I would have to say… That you most definitely have to read these books in order. Starting with the prequel Tough Love.

I was kind of disappointed to learn that the next book was not going to be about Clara!
What was the point of the prequel? I have no emotional interest for Candy or Ivan.
Maybe I would after I got Clara’s story. But everything just seems like unfinished business with her.
Overall… This book was ok. But it was just missing something for me to fully love it.

*ARC provided for an honest review*

About the Author

Skye Warren is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of dark romantic fiction. Her books are raw, sexual and perversely romantic.

website
Goodreads
Facebook
Leave a Reply

