Amber To Ashes by Gail McHugh Blog Tour

image004 (1)

amber-to-ashes-9781476766010_hr

They were a storm I never saw coming, an unforeseen heartbreak on the edge of a dangerous cliff.

In AMBER TO ASHES (Atria Paperback; June 9th, 2015), Amber Moretti’s life changes in the span of minutes. An orphaned outsider, she is desperate to start fresh the moment she walks onto campus. In the time it takes to cross the university’s dining hall, she meets two men who bring color, air, and light to her darkened world.

They became my addiction, each a needle to my next hit, my high.

Brock Cunningham’s appeal is dizzying, a potent force Amber can’t deny. A green-eyed smooth talker, he instantly attracts Amber. It doesn’t take long for him to consume her every thought, her every breath.

Ryder Ashcroft, a blue-eyed, tattooed, and pierced bad boy, turns Amber off immediately—that is, until he kisses her, stealing a piece of her heart, her soul.

They were as opposite as fire and ice, yet I ached for them equally. 

Never knowing she could be broken down in so many unexpectedly beautiful yet petrifying ways, Amber finds herself falling for both men.

Immoral? Maybe. I say undeniable. Uncontained.

But one devastating event changes everything, shattering each of their lives…and Amber isn’t sure she can recover from it.

Melanie’s 4-Star Review:

FullSizeRender (3)

“Oh what a tangled web we weave…” This popular saying is the very essence of Gail McHugh’s Amber to Ashes. I can’t begin to tell you how excited I was to get my hands on this. The blurb and early author reviews had my mouth watering and I couldn’t believe my luck when the ARC was extended to me. I fell in love with this author’s work in the Collide series. She ruined me for many other books even months after I had finished the books. I knew from then on that I would be an avid follower.

Amber To Ashes is carnal toxicity at its finest. A trio of characters who are all bound by their dark pasts. Shrouded in darkness by horrific experiences. Amber Moretti, the lead female protagonist has been numb her whole adult life after witnessing something no one should ever have to. This terrorizing event stunting any emotional development. The day she falls onto Ryder Ashcroft’s lap unbeknownst to her is the very same moment when her life really begins. Let me to tell you… I fell quickly for Ryder. Though struggling with his own issues, he keeps the dark spots in his life from the outside world. Known to be the tattooed, leather wearing bad boy whose baby blues are to die for, he sees deep into Amber’s superficial persona and finds a powerful connection from the minute he catches her into his arms. I couldn’t get enough of all of him. He made my heart thumpity thump like no one’s business. But hold on ladies.. Gail McHugh not only gives us one brooding hunk but she throws into this mix Brock Cunningham. The All American football quarterback who seems to have it all. With is light hair and his enigmatic green eyes, he too finds himself immediately drawn to Amber; the connection as profound. To say that Brock is battling his own demons is an understatement. This guy harbors such a heartbreaking and guilt-driven loss it’s impossible not to feel sympathy towards him. To be perfectly honest, I was leery of him even when he said the right things and did some of the most swoon-worthy things, I was fearful of him; he sent chills down my spine. It was as if something dark was lurking behind his perfect persona..

The relationship that develop between these characters was intense. This whole book was intense. Fast paced and provocative, you will find yourself heated, a slow burn so good you will be fanning yourself like a maniac in hope to alleviate the fire incinerating every part of your body. I stand and applaud Gail McHugh for introducing us to a different side of her. While her Collide series was smothered in sweet honey and maximum swoon-worthy factor, Amber To Ashes is multi-layered. It is mysteriously dark, gritty, and thrillingly perverse in levels that I couldn’t fully comprehend. This was so unexpectedly warped, I swear she just blew my mind away. I feel like I had to keep reminding myself that this was a Gail McHugh novel and I loved that! I love that an author whom I adore could still throw me off kilter. In my book, it shows depth and a long lasting passion for her art.

So you may be asking with all of the accolades splashed on this review.. Why the 4 stars? For those who read my reviews, well, you all know that the heroine makes it or breaks it for me as far as 5-stars go. I struggled to connect with Amber’s character throughout this book. I thought that Ryder and Brock overshadowed her; in my eyes they weakened her foundation and for me, she just got sorta lost in translation. Though I sympathized with her struggles, I felt it was hard to put myself in her shoes and as a reader, that’s exactly what I need to be able to do in order to connect with my heroine. I know that there’s so much more to Amber; she is strong willed, she has an energy to her that just exudes sensuality and sexuality. I am really looking forward to seeing all of that come together in the follow-up to this story and I know that of any author, it is Gail who can do just that.

I can’t recommend this book enough, especially for fellow McHugh fans like myself. I am excited for you to see this side of her storytelling. Amber To Ashes will take you to a level of ecstasy and suspense you’ll be surprised by how many times you’ll need to remind yourself to breathe. Because I guarantee, Gail McHugh will take your breath away with what I am sure to be will be another Best Seller to add to her list.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Ray LaMontagne – Let It Be Me

About the Author:

Gail McHugh

Gail McHugh is the author of the New York Times bestsellers Collide and Pulse. She is the mother of three beautiful children and has been married to her husband for fifteen years.

Visit Gail online at:

http://www.authorgailmchugh.com/

Twitter: @Gail_McHugh

Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorGailMcHugh

Order the AMBER TO ASHES paperback:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Books-a-Million

IndieBound

 

Order the AMBER TO ASHES eBook:

Amazon’s Kindle Store

Barnes & Noble

Blio

Books-a-Million

Google ebookstore

iBooks

Kobo

Enter the giveaway!

Enter to win one of ten signed copies of AMBER TO ASHES by visiting the blog tour rafflecopter beginning 6/8 through 6/22.

https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/7e0813e14/

 

Leave a Reply

