The Summer Remains by Seth King

24443726

The Summer Remains
by Seth King

Stars: 5

Reviewed by:
Twenty-four-year-old Summer Johnson knows two things. The first is that due to a quickly worsening medical condition, she faces a risky surgery in three months’ time that may or may not end in her death. The second is that she would like to fall in love before then.

As spring sinks into her namesake season on the Florida coastline, Summer plays the odds and downloads a new dating app – and after one intriguing message from a beautiful surfer named Cooper Nichols, it becomes clear that the story of what may be her last few months under the sun is about to be completely revised. All she has to do now is write something worth reading.

Tender, honest, devastating and triumphant, The Summer Remains explores a very human battle being waged in a very digital age: the search for a love that will outlast this temporary borrowing of bones. In an era when many feel compelled to share and re-share anything about everything, prepare to feel a love so special, you will want to hug it close and make it yours forever.

IMG_1086

This is the first book that I’ve read by his author. I was really happy I took a chance on it. It was an incredible story about life and love and how sometimes life has you dealing with the impossible.
And how you deal with it. It was incredibly sad too.

It’s been awhile since I read an ugly cry book. And boy did I cry! I’ve only read one other book that made me cry like this book. I even think this book is even more intense than that other book.
I just had a really hard time getting through the last 20-30% of this book.
I could not stop crying!
The emotions poring out of this book was so well done. This author just nailed it!
And the little information that this author gives you about his brother…
Oh man…. Was heartbreaking.

I was a wreck reading his book.

All I can say is that I loved this book! LOVED IT!
I can’t even express it enough how much this book moved me.
Summer and Cooper’s story was so unique and original.
Meeting on a dating app. Is sort of a hit or miss thing. You never know what your going to get. And luckily for Summer and Cooper. They met and had a deep connection.

I felt it was fate that brought them together.
They both were looking for something. And they both needed something.
And thats why I felt they were just brought together.
As they were getting to know each other. Summer and Cooper did a great deal of texting. Asking all these odd questions. And having these off the wall discussions.
I loved it!
The texting between Cooper and Summer had me laughing. They got each other’s humor. That’s hard to find!

I loved how Cooper over looked a lot of things with Summer. Summers scar was a big thing with her. She had a real complex about it. I was pretty shocked the way she got her scar… I felt so bad for her.
Then add her throat illness.
She was just dealt with a bad hand in life.

It’s weird… I feel like people that have to deal with medical issues have a big heart… And let a lot roll off their backs and don’t sweat the small stuff. They take everything that’s thrown their way without complaining.
Stories like this… always gets me. Because I can kind of relate to it. I go through it with my daughter.

My daughter was 2 when she was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes (insulin dependent) she’s 17 now… She had it for 15years. Since day 1. She never fought me about being poked every 2 hours on her fingers or toes. She never fought me about giving her shots every time she had to eat. It just felt like she just knew. And accepted it.
Just like Summer… My daughter would go through the “I don’t care what people think” phase. The “Why me” phase. And the “I wish” phase. (it breaks my heart to see her go through all that.)
She’s the strongest person I know to go through that. And even though she has her breakdown moments. Hating having diabetes… She cries it out… Picks herself up and moves on.
She would love to go to Summer’s Anti-support group…lol

Summer was like that. She was just a strong person. All she wanted was to make everyone happy. And live her life like a normal 25year old.
Being young and not having any real experience with relationships. I thought she could have made a better decision in the beginning with Cooper. I mean I get why she did it.

But,I felt she should have given Cooper The opportunity to decide what he wanted to do.
That’s why I was so upset with Summer. For keeping something so big of a secret for so long.
I felt Cooper had a right to know within the first month of talking. I thought it was very wrong of Summer not to tell Cooper about her illness. And very selfish too.
You can’t just do that to a person. It’s wrong. You have to give that person an option.
Because…. Your not only effecting your life but someone else’s too.

Cooper had his own issues in the beginning. Dealing with his moms MS. He was her sole care taker. And that’s a lot to deal with at such a young age. I felt summer came into his life to show him that life wasn’t that bad. That he was worth something.
Summer I think made him see that. She changed him. For the better.

As I kept reading on…. I felt the anticipation and anxiety of the upcoming surgery and I really started to feel really bad for Summer and Cooper.
I think Summer started to feel like everything was creeping up way to fast. Things that normally don’t bug her… We’re starting to seep through.

All the engagements happening all around her and all the wedding announcements on Facebook. They were starting to be to much for her. I started to really feel bad.
I wanted her to have that! To experience that.

And Cooper…. I felt he was really doing a good job keeping it in and keeping it together. But towards the end. He was loosing his battle to keeping a straight face.
He was breaking…. And it just broke my heart.

The ending just simply and plainly crushed me. I just felt like i was there feeling everything that was going on. It was very hard to read. I kept having to put my kindle down to collect myself.
This book will definitely stay with me for a very long time. And I would definitely recommend this book to other people.

*ARC provided by author for an honest review*

5999795

About this author

Seth King is a twenty-five-year-old American author.

website
twitter username
Goodreads
Facebook
Leave a Reply

