The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan Book Review

unnamed

Original Release Date: Sept. 7th, 2014

Series: Game On (but can be read as a standalone)

Buy Link: http://amzn.to/1dnL8a9

Blurb:

The rules: no kissing on the mouth, no staying the night, no telling anyone, and above all… No falling in love

Anna Jones just wants to finish college and figure out her life. Falling for star quarterback Drew Baylor is certainly not on her to do list. Confident and charming, he lives in the limelight and is way too gorgeous for his own good. If only she could ignore his heated stares and stop thinking about doing hot and dirty things with him. Easy, right?

Too bad he’s committed to making her break every rule…

Football has been good to Drew. It’s given him recognition, two National Championships, and the Heisman. But what he really craves is sexy yet prickly Anna Jones. Her cutting humor and blatant disregard for his fame turns him on like nothing else. But there’s one problem: she’s shut him down. Completely.

That is until a chance encounter leads to the hottest sex of their lives, along with the possibility of something great. Unfortunately, Anna wants it to remain a hook up. Now it’s up to Drew to tempt her with more: more sex, more satisfaction, more time with him. Until she’s truly hooked. It’s a good thing Drew knows all about winning.

All’s fair in love and football…Game on

Melanie’s 5-DELIRIOUS Stars Review:

I have just been struck by cupid, otherwise known as Kristen Callihan, the brilliant author of The Hook Up. Oh my goodness did I effer-lover-luvin’ LOVE this book!!! Everything about it, the ups and downs, the twists and turns so amazingly well done. I have to give a million thanks to Amazon for recommending this gem to me otherwise, it may have been a missed opportunity which I may have never been able to forgive myself for. I am head over heels in love with Drew “Battle” Baylor and just equally enthralled with his leading lady, Anna Jones. These two made me weak in my knees. I didn’t want their story to ever end, enjoying the plethora of happiness that surrounded me. Don’t get me wrong, their love story isn’t easy but what I loved so much about this book was how evident and profound their feelings were for one another. Doubt never crept its way over and my gosh, I could just feel the weight of their love for each other. I was completely lost in their story; zero hope of ever wanting to put this book down.

The author did a magnificent job with the plot, stirring just the right amount of angst alongside the romance. The reasons behind Anna’s reluctance held such powerful validity that my heart squeezed ever so tightly, a vice strong enough to bring my hands unconsciously against my heart. I admired the author’s ability to bring something so real into her story, making her character incredibly easy to relate to. She has to be one of my favorite heroines. She wasn’t overly dramatic, she wasn’t annoyingly flighty. She was scared, she was honest, unbelievably brave, and a true vixen at heart. A sexy vixen whom Drew Baylor couldn’t shake. From the moment he lays his eyes on her, he knows he’s a goner. Drew was just…. UGGHHHH, so majestically swoon worthy!!! He is the epitome book boyfriend. He never once gave up on her, always Anna. Always and forever, Anna. She was it for him and the bounds and leaps he takes just to breath the same air she does, even for just a nanosecond was something to behold. I enjoyed every dang, nanosecond of it too. I wanted to wrap him up and snatch him away; keep him for my own because he is just so effer-luvin’ awesome. Even now, I swoon just thinking about him. Anna and Drew were like moths to a fire around one another. OMG, the hottie tottie scenes—WHOA BABY!!! I swear, I had to fan myself what with the heat creeping up flush against my face. Oh ladies, your girly bits will thank you.

The Hook Up is so much more than the atypical NA romance- it goes beyond the usual playboy jock falling for the beautiful wallflower. There are real issues that the characters deal with and the author takes the level of heat between her characters to perfection. This book made me deliriously crazy and I cannot sing enough praises for it. So, I suggest you find out for yourself while I meander over to my Kindle store and one click the follow up book to this series, The Friend Zone (Gray’s story) which I know will drive me just as wild too.

About the Author:

61xWLqVVOuL._UX250_

Kristen Callihan is an author because there is nothing else she’d rather be. She is a three-time RITA nominee and winner of two RT Reviewer’s Choice awards. Her novels have garnered starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly and the Library Journal, as well as being awarded top picks by many reviewers. Her debut book FIRELIGHT received RT Magazine’s Seal of Excellence, was named a best book of the year by Library Journal, best book of Spring 2012 by Publisher’s Weekly, and was named the best romance book of 2012 by ALA RUSA. When she is not writing, she is reading.

Series Order:

The Hook Up: http://amzn.to/1dnLnlu

The Friend Zone: http://amzn.to/1dnLqh2

Leave a Reply

