Misfits by Garrett Leigh Review

23312554

Misfits
by Garrett Leigh

Stars: 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
Restaurant owner Tom Fearnes has loved his partner Cass for as long as he can remember, but their work often keeps them apart. When he meets a striking young man named Jake on the vibrant streets of Camden Town, their heady first encounter takes an unexpected turn.

Jake Thompson can hardly believe his luck when he wakes up in Tom’s bed. Tom is gorgeous, kind, and . . . taken. Tom’s explanation of his open relationship leaves Jake cold, but Tom is too tempting, and when hard times force Jake to accept Tom’s helping hand, he finds himself between two men who’ve lost their way.

Cass Pearson is a troubled soul. He loves Tom with all he has, but some days it feels like he hasn’t much to give. Jake seems like the perfect solution. Cass risks everything to push Jake and Tom together, but Jake resists, wary, until the darkness of Cass’s past comes to call. Then Jake finds himself the last man standing, and it’s time to dig deep and shine a light for the men he’s grown to love.

IMG_1086

This is the first book I’ve read by this author. I’m so glad I came across this book on Netgalley. The cover drew me to the book. Then the synopsis.

But… By the time I started to read this book. I forgot what it was about. I had other books to read for blog tours before I could read this one.
So…. I went in blind. I didn’t reread the synopsis. I wanted to see if the book would grab me right away or see if it would take me awhile to get into.
I’m so happy to say it grabbed me right away. I was pleasantly surprised! It’s been awhile since I read a m/m/m book!
I didn’t want to stop reading it. I totally devoured it!

Ok… So like I said… Not having reread the synopsis.
My overall take on this book was good…But I felt like something was missing. Lack of certain people’s emotions…I think.
Tom & Cass to Jake….and sometimes Tom and Jake to Cass.
But Tom being the one setting it all up. He tried… but to me it came off a little one sided.

I liked how Tom didn’t let Jake’s TS (Tourette’s Syndrome) bother him. He had a lot of Tic’s…. Some small and some big ones. Personally…. I loved his fly me to the moon one. He new Jake was a good guy but obviously different.
Cass… He was the rough around the edges kind of guy. But, he had a big heart.
I loved those text messages Jake and he had. In some ways… I felt he was more connected to Jake than Tom was. Because…. Tom and Jake didn’t really get deep with each other.
And Tom….
The guy that started it all.
I was 50/50 about the guy. I liked how he wanted to help everyone. But I think he put himself first. I felt Jake and Cass had to deal with it.

Tom, Jake, & Cass were good together in the sex department. The sex in this book was really hot! They all seemed to click when they were together.
It was out of the bedroom that things would get messed up.

Ok…. So in the beginning I was slightly put off when Cass was introduced into the story.
Because I was already into Jake and Tom. Yes, Tom would talk about Cass in his mind. But I thought at first he was dead. LOL
Because Tom would just be thinking about him & be missing him. And since he wasn’t around… I automatically thought he was gone.
So when he popped up at Tom’s flat and Jake went running…. I thought…
Oh boy…. Here we go. Love triangle
My opinion started to change fairly quick.

Tom and Cass don’t have a traditional relationship. They have a open relationship.
Ok… My take on open relationships.

I always feel with open relationships that someone always is going to get hurt. If you don’t start the relationship right from the beginning with all the people involved…
How can you not feel left out in certain situations?
When two of the people in the relationship already have history and know each other really well.
Jealousy is bound to occur.
I felt like that with Cass in the beginning. It seemed like Jake bugged him. He kept talking about Jake in passing.
Asking questions here and there. Then ending the conversation.
I think he felt Jake was different. Maybe, that’s why he felt the way he did.

As I read on…. I felt bad for Cass and Jake. Because they both wanted Tom. They had to conform to what Tom wanted. And how he wanted his relationship to be.

Well, I thought Jake had to compromise more than anyone. He had to accept Tom and Cass relationship.
And, Cass had to accept Jake. He had to accept that someone was wiggling his way into Tom’s heart. A heart that up until he met Jake was only for Cass.

That’s why I felt bad for those two. It’s Tom’s way or no way….I felt
As I was reading. My heart went our for Jake. I felt he was getting the raw end of the deal with Tom.

What got to me was Tom saying.
If I had to choose… Cass was the one.
I was really upset about that!

That wasn’t fair to poor Jake.
It was just very selfish on Tom’s part. He wanted his cake and he wanted to eat it too… I felt.\

I have sooo many mixed emotions while reading this book. I feel like Cass should be madder at Tom…. But at the same time. I want them to all work out and be together.
But I also felt that both Cass and Tom needed to really show Jake he was a valued person in the relationship.

One thing I didn’t care for was how much Tom would think of Cass when he was getting It on with Jake. It put me off. Because he would do it with Cass too. Think of Jake.
I just didn’t care for that. It made me think…
If you keep thinking/comparing about your boyfriend while doing another guy. Then you must be feeling slightly guilty about what you are doing.

I’m was at the 78% mark and I still felt like Jake is the 3rd wheel. It feels like he is still walking on eggshells with Cass and Tom.
And it doesn’t help that Cass won’t really talk to him and tell him about his troubles. I’ve only seen so far that Tom is the only one he wants to confide in.
What sealed the deal with me was when Cass went through his crisis.
I felt really horrible for Jake. It really felt wrong for Tom and Cass to do that to Jake.
Yes…They showed Jake they cared for him.
But it still felt like Jake was the outsider. And Jake felt like one too.
But they didn’t do anything about it.

Even until the very end of the book when Jake left the bathroom. He still had a look on his face like he wasn’t sure where to be.
And really…. By the end of this book. It should have been more concrete and clear.
I think If Jake would have been there for Cass as Tom was…. Finding about his mother. Then it would have been solidifying Jakes roll in the relationship.

I think they should have really went out of their way to show Jake that they made a mistake. I also think Jake should have left. Make them chase after him. Because it always felt like Jake was the one compromising more than anyone.

Despite everything I just wrote… I really enjoyed this story! The writing was flawless. Flowed perfectly! I will be definitely be reading more books my this author.

***ARC provided by Riptide Publishing via Netgalley for an honest review***

5893561

About this author


Garrett Leigh is a British writer and book designer, currently working for Dreamspinner Press, Loose Id, Riptide Publishing, and Black Jazz Press. Her protagonists will always always be tortured, crippled, broken, and deeply flawed. Throw in a tale of enduring true love, some stubbly facial hair, and a bunch of tattoos, and you’ve got yourself a Garrett special.

When not writing, Garrett can generally be found procrastinating on Twitter, cooking up a storm, or sitting on her behind doing as little as possible. That, and dreaming up new ways to torture her characters. Garrett believes in happy endings; she just likes to make her boys work for it.

Garrett also works as a freelance cover artist for various publishing houses and independent authors under the pseudonym G.D. Leigh. For cover art info, please visit blackjazzpress.com

website
twitter username
Facebook
Goodreads
Leave a Reply

