Instigation by Tessa Teevan Review

Instigation_Amazon

Instigation (Clandestine Affairs #1)
by Tessa Teevan

Stars: 4

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
Breaking up is hard to do.

Three years after her life changed forever, Gabriella Latham finally has it all. Killer job [if working for her boyfriend counts]. Killer closet [even if she doesn’t technically own any of it]. Killer boyfriend [who refuses to let her leave him, even when she tries]. Unfortunately for her, the last part isn’t hyperbole. She just doesn’t know it yet.

Adrian Morningstar was a dream come true. No one had ever loved her more, and for the first time, in longer than she could remember, she was no longer alone. He was the Prince Charming to her Cinderella, until suddenly he became the Beast with whom she could not escape.

Until him.

When Rafe Matthews is hired to oversee the guest home construction of one of the most powerful businessmen in the country, he finally has his in. Nothing will get in the way of what he sets out to do.

Until her.

Watching from the shadows, he’s drawn to the beautiful, isolated woman of the house. His curiosity is piqued and he has to have her. She may be taken by the boss, but that’s not enough to stop him. Or her.

Nothing is quite as it seems, and this is only the beginning.

Passions ignite. Tempers flare. Secrets kill.

Book 1 in the brand new Clandestine Affairs Series. Book 2, Escalation, will release late summer 2015.

IMG_1086

Oh man… When I signed up to do this blog tour I had no clue that this book would end in a cliffhanger. When I read books with these kind of endings. I like to wait until the whole series is out so that I can read straight through. Or at the very least when the next book is already out. I just hate to wait to find out what happens. It kills me! I feel like that should be disclosed in the synopsis.
Give the readers a choice whether or not to read your book now or wait until the next book is out.
That’s my take on cliffhangers. This one wasn’t to bad. I can totally wait for the next book to come out.

With all that being said…

This is the first book I’ve read by this author. And I must say! I’m not disappointed! It is extremely well written.
This book had me from the very first page.
It was a total trip! It was not what I was expecting. Which is good. It’s unique and not like the rest out there. I’ve never read a book like this.
There were however a couple of things I didn’t care for. But overall a very interesting book.

I was really feeling this book in the beginning. When Gabriella first met Adrian. I thought man… She hit the jackpot! Yes, he had flaws…
But, he seemed to be Prince Charming.
Boy…did That change slowly… He started to slip away and he started to become a totally different person.
And, my opinion of him started to change.

When Rafe entered the picture…
Hmmm… Something felt kind of off to me about him. I think it was the instant attraction between Gabriella and him. He came on way to strong and way to fast. I wish there was a little more build up between them. And all the questions he asked were a little weird.

Gabriella… I felt bad for her. She really didn’t have anyone. She fell way to fast for one guy and then she fell to fast for another.
She allowed herself to get comfortable. And that… I think was her downfall.

She felt something wrong or that something was up with both men… But she never fully sat down and got the answers to all the questions she asked! She would always get distracted by sex. (I hate that!)
There was a lot of internal dialogue going on in her head. It was way to much for my taste. I wish there wasn’t so much of it going on in this book with her.

The sex was extremely hot! From both main Characters!
Adrian and Rafe really knew how to make Gabriella feel good!!!

I loved how this book has a bit of mystery. We still don’t know a lot about anything. And we still don’t know who’s the good guy or the bad guy. And why they both want Gabriella in their life’s. Because they both claim to want to save her from each other.

I’m still up in the air about both guys. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series so that I can get some answers to all my questions.

*ARC provided for an honest review*

7170636

Author Bio

      I’m a twenty something book junkie who is also obsessed with sports. Bengals, Buckeyes, Reds are my teams! I work for the government during the day, hang out with Air National Guard on the weekends, and have been married to my own book boyfriend for over seven years. We currently live right outside of Dayton, OH with our two cats.

      If I’m not writing or looking through tons of photos of hot men, all in the name of research, then you can probably find me curled up with my Kindle, ignoring the rest of the world. I love my sports almost as much as I love my books. My other obsessions include red wine, hot men, country music, and all things Grace Potter.

Connect with the Author

 

Website: http://tessateevanauthor.blogspot.com/

Facebook: www.facebook.com/tessateevanauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TessaTeevan

Email: tessateevanauthor@gmail.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7170636.Tessa_Teevan

Leave a Reply

