Walk With Me (Home #7) by Cardeno C. Review

24872084

Walk With Me (Home #7)
by Cardeno C.

Stars: 3.5

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
When Eli Block steps into his parents’ living room and sees his childhood crush sitting on the couch, he starts a shameless campaign to seduce the young rabbi. Unfortunately, Seth Cohen barely remembers Eli and he resolutely shuts down all his advances. As a tenuous and then binding friendship forms between the two men, Eli must find a way to move past his unrequited love while still keeping his best friend in his life. Not an easy feat when the same person occupies both roles.

Professional, proper Seth is shocked by Eli’s brashness, overt sexuality, and easy defiance of societal norms. But he’s also drawn to the happy, funny, light-filled man. As their friendship deepens over the years, Seth watches Eli mature into a man he admires and respects. When Seth finds himself longing for what Eli had so easily offered, he has to decide whether he’s willing to veer from his safe life-plan to build a future with Eli.

Word count: 68,252
Walk With Me is set in the Home series where the books are linked by theme or world. They are independent and can be read in any order.

IMG_1086

This was another slow burn book for me.
Meaning… It took a long while to get to where we need to go.
I loved how this book started. How young Eli was and how sure of his decision to be with Seth was. I loved his childish humor and his strong come-on’s with Seth.

Seth on the other hand for me… Took me a little while to get into. He was struggling with who he was. Gay, straight, or Bi. He knew he was attracted to Eli. He just wasn’t letting himself let go and take a chance. Eli’s age played a big part in his decision-making. They were 9 years apart. And I think that’s what kind of killed it for me.
Seth acted like he was in his 60. And sometimes Eli acted way younger than he really was in certain parts of the book.
I hated that.

The first 63% of this book was of them being friends. One person lusting and another person denying. All Seth’s doing. That was pretty hard.
Because, Eli spent the whole time dreaming of the day he could finally be with Seth.

Their firsts time felt a little off to me. Eli was understandably excited and scared.
But… Seth with all his slow and control was kind of killing the mood for me.
I mean… They had all the time in the world to go slow after the first couple times. When he told Eli to stop and EIi didn’t. And he moved so that Eli would have to stop.
I don’t know… It just felt like Seth was still treating Eli like a child during their love making.
(Well… More like fooling around)

Seth kept calling Eli adorable and cute.
Oh man… That sounded to me way to kiddish to me!

The way Eli was acting after they fooled around.
Hmmm…. Was a little to much.
I get how skeptical he was about Seth. As far as he knew. Seth hasn’t been with anyone for about 6 years and he thought he was strictly straight.
I felt like they should have talked a little more before fooling around. Eli was already so far gone with Seth. But as far as Eli knew… This was all new feelings his friend was having towards him. So, a better talk would have been better.

Overall…

I liked this book. And strangely enough…. I’m glad this was the last book in this series. It felt like it has run its course. We all know how everyone one in this series has a HEA. And I like that. A lot!

The only thing I would have to say that really bothered me about this series was the reading order of these books. I felt I would have had a better experience if I had read these books in this order.

Reading order that I think will flow better when reading this series.

This is the reading order that I wished it would have been.

Home Again
Just What The Truth Is
Love At First sight
Where He Ends and I begin
He Completes Me
The One Who Saves Me
Walk With Me
TJ & Finn

I just hated knowing about the couples relationships before reading their story. I already knew how they ended up. And sometimes… The timelines did not match up at all. Which threw me off too.
But, other than that. This was a very good series. Some books I liked better than others.

I’m happy I read about these characters.

*ARC provided by author for an honest review*

4620386

 

About this author

Cardeno C. – CC to friends – is a hopeless romantic who wants to add a lot of happiness and a few “awwws” into a reader’s day. Writing is a nice break from real life as a corporate type and volunteer work with gay rights organizations. Cardeno’s stories range from sweet to intense, contemporary to paranormal, long to short, but they always include strong relationships and walks into the happily-ever-after sunset.

Heartwarming Stories. Strong Relationships. Forever Love.

Website: http://www.cardenoc.comBlog: (Shared Blog) http://caferisque.blogspot.com/Twitter: @CardenoCFB Profile: http://www.facebook.com/CardenoCFB Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Carde…YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcd9…Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/cardenoC/

Leave a Reply

