The One Who Saves Me (Home #6) by Cardeno C. Review

24872583

The One Who Saves Me (Home #6)
by Cardeno C.

Stars: 4

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
At fourteen, Andrew Thompson and Caleb Lakes become best friends. As the years pass, they stand by each other through family trauma, school, and the start of their careers. They share their first sexual experiences, learning and experimenting, and they talk each other through countless dates and breakups.

Decades of trust and loyalty build a deep and abiding friendship, one that surpasses any relationship in their lives. But when the parameters of their unique friendship change, neither man knows how to break out of their established roles to build something new. After all, boyfriends come and go, but best friends are forever.

Word Count: 63,145
The One Who Saves Me is set in the Home series where the books are linked by theme or world. They are independent and can be read in any order.

IMG_1086

I really enjoyed this book. I mean who doesn’t love a best friend turned lovers story. I really enjoyed their
younger years.

The getting to know each other.
The secrets that they shared.
The exploring.
Just how they were with each other.

But… this book was a very slow burn. I really didn’t feel anything romantic with them until way at the end of this book!

Ok… As I’m reading this story at the 56% mark. I can’t help but think that Andrew and Caleb are holding themselves back from finding a guy to love and be with.
I mean.. We hear about all of Andrews bad relationships. We get a little of Caleb’s. I just have a feeling Caleb is holding back with Andrew.

67% in and I’m not feeling the undying can’t live with out him kind of feelings coming from Andrew and Caleb. Andrew is always looking for love but Caleb is always single or only hook ups with other guys.

I mean I feel the love between Andrew and Caleb. But, I feel more of a deep friendship with each other and a friends with benefits. It’s more of a lust and attraction kind of thing.
I still haven’t felt the soul intense kind of love between them yet.

I liked how the chapters were going by years. But it seemed to work for me up until Caleb moved in with Andrew.
After that… It seemed like things were getting cut out and it also felt kind of rushed.

By 78%… I felt Caleb was chasing Andrew. And thinking back… He was the only one that did the majority in their friendship. It felt like to me.
Andrew would do things here and there. But… Caleb really went above and beyond for Andrew.

I just felt that this “thing” between Caleb and Andrew took way to long to get where they need to go. Holding back from each other for years!!! Was just to crazy for me.

I’m glad with how it ended. But it took way to long to get there. I felt Caleb could have, should have said something to Andrew. It just felt like Caleb was always going out of his way for Andrew. Even in the bonus chapter… I was like huh!! Well… that’s kind of messed up on Andrews part. Not even taking in consideration for his partners feelings.

Overall… I liked this story. And I can’t wait to read the next book in this series.

“Word Count: 63,145
The One Who Saves Me is set in the Home series where the books are linked by theme or world. They are independent and can be read in any order.”

Ok… I read series books according to when they come out and I also go by the number by the title. I also check on goodreads to make sure I’m reading the series in the right order.
(I know…I know… it’s a lot of work. some times I don’t do that and I end up reading books in the wrong order. I hate when I do that.)
I also think that if you read these books out of order. You would kind of be lost. There are so many supporting characters with big rolls in these people’s life. In one way or another… Their paths have crossed. The characters stories would flow better if they are read in a certain way. Now having read all the books in this series.

Reading order that I think will flow better when reading this series.

This is the reading order that I wished it would have been.

Home Again
Just What The Truth Is
Love At First sight
Where He Ends and I begin
He Completes Me
The One Who Saves Me
Walk With Me
TJ & Finn
*ARC Provided by author for an honest review*

4620386

About this author

Cardeno C. – CC to friends – is a hopeless romantic who wants to add a lot of happiness and a few “awwws” into a reader’s day. Writing is a nice break from real life as a corporate type and volunteer work with gay rights organizations. Cardeno’s stories range from sweet to intense, contemporary to paranormal, long to short, but they always include strong relationships and walks into the happily-ever-after sunset.

Heartwarming Stories. Strong Relationships. Forever Love.

Website: http://www.cardenoc.comBlog: (Shared Blog) http://caferisque.blogspot.com/Twitter: @CardenoCFB Profile: http://www.facebook.com/CardenoCFB Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Carde…YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcd9…Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/cardenoC/

Leave a Reply

