Just What the Truth Is (Home #5) by Cardeno C. Review

24872485

Just What the Truth Is (Home #5)
by Cardeno C.

Stars: 4.5

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
People-pleaser Ben Forman has been in the closet so long he has almost convinced himself he is straight, but his denial train gets derailed when hotshot lawyer Micah Trains walks into his life. Micah is brilliant, funny, driven…and he assumes Ben is gay and starts dating him. Finding himself truly happy for the first time, Ben doesn’t have the willpower to resist Micah’s affection.

When his relationship with Micah heats up, Ben realizes has a problem: his parents won’t tolerate a gay son and self-confident Micah isn’t the type to hide. If Ben wants to maintain his hold on his happiness, he’ll have to decide what’s important and own up to the truth of who he is. The trouble is figuring out just what that truth is.

Word Count: 68,858
Just What the Truth Is is set in the Home series where the books are linked by theme or world. They are independent and can be read in any order.

IMG_1086
I’m not going to lie… I’m really enjoying this series. But I’m hating the order in which these books are in! So I’m going in blind (not reading the synopsis to each book) and I’m finding out who’s in the book as I’m reading it.
I have to say. It’s kind of messing up the flow for me.

I’ve said this in my last three reviews now. It feels like I’m jumping all over the place. This book really should be book 2 in this series. It would just flow better and keep some of the characters fresh in people’s mind (my mind).
And… I already know how this couple Ben and Micah end up… Because it was said in book 1 already.
Why wait to book 5 to tell their story. For me it would have been way better if this was book 2 and I had no clue how they ended.

This is the reading order that I wished it would have been.

Reading order that I think will flow better when reading this series.

 

Home Again

Just What The Truth Is

Love At First sight
Where He Ends and I begin
He Completes Me
The One Who Saves Me
Walk With Me
TJ & Finn

Ok… moving on.

Ben was a hard man to like in book 1. I went into this story already not fully liking him. The way he treated his brother Noah….Was pretty bad! At the end of that book you finally see him break down. But I still didn’t feel all that bad for him. Because, he was still hiding who he really was from everyone.

I loved how Micah and Ben started their relationship. Really slow. What I didn’t like was that Ben never told Micah about being still in the closet and him being his first everything! I thought Ben kept that secret way to long.
How can you keep that from someone for so long.
I wanted Micah to really be upset with Ben. He had every right to be. Ben said some hurtful things to Micah. Then went on a little man bender!!(I hate when MC do that)

The sex was great in this book. I loved the part when they were visiting Micah’s parents! I laughed at what Micah did!

I also loved the ending of the book. It was really perfect. Ben has come a long way. He finally feels comfortable in his own skin. He was able to let it all go and live the life he always wanted. And, he also got his parents to somewhat accept his life. Which was a good thing.

I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!!

*ARC provided by author for an honest review*

4620386

About this author


Cardeno C. – CC to friends – is a hopeless romantic who wants to add a lot of happiness and a few “awwws” into a reader’s day. Writing is a nice break from real life as a corporate type and volunteer work with gay rights organizations. Cardeno’s stories range from sweet to intense, contemporary to paranormal, long to short, but they always include strong relationships and walks into the happily-ever-after sunset.

Heartwarming Stories. Strong Relationships. Forever Love.

Leave a Reply

