Maybe, Someday by Colleen Hoover Book Review

image

Blurb:

At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her—and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

A passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance, Maybe Someday will immerse readers in Sydney’s tumultuous world from the very first page.

Melanie’s 5-BREATHTAKING STARS Review:

Incredible. So unbelievably incredible. Though my mind is a bit hazy and the sting in my eyes from the lack of sleep, I know that what I’ve just experienced is something to behold. Maybe, Someday has just blown my mind. How can someone write such beautiful words and such compelling circumstances? Colleen Hoover has filled my heart so full I could feel all the love pouring out of it, spilling so wildly making its way onto my face. This BIG, humongous smile all a result of this unbelievably incredible book.

I can’t adequately describe just how much I loved Ridge and Sydney’s story and there are no words that could come close to express the brevity of emotions I’m feeling right now. I just can’t wrap my mind across how brilliantly everything came together in this book. There were revelations I never saw coming; I reveled in them and the whiplash that accompanied them were a welcome physical distraction even if for just a few moments; a reminder that I was still alive, still breathing because I swear, so many times Colleen’s words just took my breath away.

Maybe, Someday is a punch in the gut love story that exemplifies the old sayings—“love comes when you least expect” or “the heart wants what it wants.” Their story is nowhere near easy and many times will shatter your heart with such force, you won’t know where the pieces landed and it’ll cause a ruckus panic because hey, a missing piece means your heart could never really be put back together. Right? This is one of the best things about this book. You never really knew where the author would take it. I loved the irony built around their story because it created a level of meaning behind each life event that occurs, leading both Ridge and Sydney to one another. There are no real villains in this story. But what it has are a bunch of victims; all a victim to that infamous four letter word— LOVE. Love.

What Ridge made me feel countless of times with his easy demeanor and innate caring personality… Well, he made my knees weak and my heart flutter like a million butterflies had somehow taken up residence right at the deepest, most desired areas of my heart. Sydney’s character so brutally honest and real I couldn’t help the tears that fell from my eyes for her. For her, for Ridge, for so many reasons. I am in awe of how Colleen Hoover managed to jot down such intense, intangible words that I wanted to tattoo right on to my body. Maybe, Someday didn’t take a taboo subject to enhance the power behind it, it took situations that I’m sure we’ve all during some time in our lives encountered—only, she took thousands of steps above, she heightened the level of emotions that are swirling around a time when we’re being pulled into different directions. When our hearts and our minds are at a violent war against one another. She took me to a place, to an unexplainable journey that only an absurdly talented writer could. Maybe, Someday didn’t need taboo, it didn’t need big bad villains because the heartache and the once in a lifetime love that ensues are enough to make you lose your breath, gasping for air to catch up on those missed ones. It is enough to bring out the box of tissues to wipe away the tears that warrant a confused look on your husband’s face. Maybe, Someday was more than enough. It didn’t try too hard, it was seamless. It was a brilliant story told by an even more brilliant mind which will leave your mind hazy and your eyes sting reminding you exactly why it is that books are such an essential part of who you are.

Thank you, Colleen for writing this story. For reminding me that I can still lose my bearings without the countless, benign hottie tottie scenes we all seem to be chasing these days. Thank you. Just, well. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

