For Authentication Purposes by Amber L. Johnson Review

For-Authentication-Purposes-Low-Res-Cover

For Authentication Purposes

Stars: 4.5
Reviewed by:
Michelle
Synopsis:
Dear Reader,

This book is not YA. Nope. It’s for people 18+. It’s humorotica. Silly smut. It’s just…the acronym is FAP, people. If funny books with chapters and chapters of body contact is up your alley then maybe this is a thing you’d be down with.

***********

Dawn Sims has made a name for herself writing romantic fiction online. When she’s pushed to try her hand at publishing, she thinks she has everything figured out. The only problem? She’s never been in a relationship, especially one that has led her to finding The Big O.

So much for writing what you know.

Warner Green has had Dawn in his sights since she walked into his class in seventh grade. She broke his teenage heart not once, but twice, so seeing her in his night class at the local community college was an unexpected surprise.

Accidentally reading her bad erotica on her laptop was a blessing from the Smut Gods themselves.

It’s clear she has no idea what she’s writing about, but Warner does. In fact, he knows so much that he’s willing to offer her his services. The deal is simple: teach the good girl from high school everything she needs to know to write from experience. If he gets to live out a fantasy or two that he’s been harboring for almost a decade, then there’s no harm in that either.

The lessons turn more heated, and Dawn begins to question where Warner has learned his skills, but he’s not ready to talk, until his past comes back to haunt him at the worst possible time.

It shouldn’t matter when it’s for authentication purposes only.

IMG_1086
Ok…I totally devoured his book in one sitting. Talk about hotter than hot! Wow! It was incredibly detailed… That I just had to read certain parts twice!!…lol because it was just that good!!..
I really love this authors writing. Her stories just seem to work for me. I’ve read all her books except two. And I really need to jump on those other two cause I don’t want to miss out!
This book is certainly different… Waaaayyy different than her other books that I’ve read. Which is a good thing. I know whenever I pick up one of her books to read… I’m going to get something really good to read.
The synopsis pretty much says it all so I’m going to just jump right into my review.
I was really worried at the start of the book! Dawn’s book she was writing was pretty bad! My eyes nearly popped out when she started writing  things like “pebbled love button” or “aroused flower”. I was thinking to myself… Oh god no! Please don’t let it be like this throughout the whole book! (Don’t worry… It’s not!!)
I like Dawn… A lot. She went with the flow with things. She didn’t really have any big hang up’s with things. She just needs to be taught how to please herself. She never experience that earth shattering can’t get enough of someone before. So when Warner found out about her book. She totally was in for the ride of her life!…lol
I found Warner aka “Wardo” to be extremely frustrating. I wasn’t really feeling him. He seemed to be straddling two sides. One where he really wanted to let go with Dawn and another where he was holding back and being kind of standoffish. He was so hot and cold.
I found what they did to be such a turn on. Warner letting Dawn explore her sexuality. Getting her to open up and let loose.
But… It was kind of getting old (Only self pleasuring). 52% in and still nothing. I felt that things should have progressed way further than that.
And… We still don’t know that much about Warner. But little bits and pieces. But, when his secret finally was revealed at 59%. Things started to click in my head. He was doing the same exact thing that was done to him with Dawn. ( which I found a little creepy) it was like he was trying to recreate what he was taught by that other person. Which I think for me… Wouldn’t have been so creepy if he would have just talked to Dawn about it… Instead of teaching her lessons.
I felt like this book just needed to step it up. It was starting to drag a little bit. Other than the really hot and steamy scenes in this book. I was having a really hard time connecting with these characters. I didn’t really feel a real connection until 88% in.
Overall… I did enjoy this book. I just couldn’t put this book down in certain places. I found certain parts of this book to drag on.
More than anything… I wanted to feel the connection between Dawn and Warner. And, not just the lust between them. I wanted to feel the characters come together. That didn’t happen for me until 82% in.
That’s a little too late in my opinion. But despite all that I just said… I still couldn’t put this book down.
*ARC Provided by publisher via Netgalley*
AuthPhot
About this author


Amber lives in Georgia with her amazingly talented husband and incredibly gifted son. Most known for her novella Puddle Jumping (a 2014 Goodreads Choice Award for Best YA) she is constantly trying her hand at new genres and ideas to force herself to think outside the box.

She is inspired by music, her family, a close group of friends, and real life. Mostly in that order.

Leave a Reply

