Playing The Field (Duty & Desire, #4) by C.J. Pinard Review

24242118

Playing the Field (Duty & Desire, #4)

Stars: 3.5
Reviewed by:
Michelle
Synopsis:
RELEASE DATE: JANUARY 15, 2015!!An overachiever in uniform…Jace Lawless is an overachiever, a go-getter, and determined to accomplish everything he sets his mind to. After serving his country in the U.S. Marine Corps, and receiving his college degree, he’s picked up by a popular minor league baseball team, all while continuing his service in the USMC reserves.When Jace meets a beautiful, breathtaking single mother named Miranda Cates, it takes him by surprise. Her shady past and beautiful little girl are the conundrum that both confuses and fascinates Jace. He can’t tear his thoughts away from Miranda, and eventually he believes he can win her over with his dimpled smirk and witty charms.Once Miranda becomes his, the part of him she hated the most – the part he had kept secret from her for so long – rears its ugly head. Will Miranda lean on her friend Cara for support while staying by his side once he tells her that duty is calling… or will she decide she can’t handle it and take her daughter and leave?Playing the Field is the fourth and final installment of the Duty & Desire series. Contains adult situations and minor scenes of war.
IMG_1086

Ok… I’m just going to jump right into my review.

I’m not going to lie… this book was not what I was expecting.

I was kind of confused when I started to read this book. I had to go back and read my review for Boots Beneath My Bed and I had to reread the ending of the book too.

Because, I thought at the end of that book Jace and Miranda were already together.

But…. At the start of this book… He’s single.

 

I thought this book would have picked up right where the ending of the last book left off. But… we don’t. This book was a POV book.

 

We get a retelling of Jace and Miranda’s story. The dating and how they finally get together from Jace’s POV.

It was interesting hearing things from Jace’s POV. I don’t remember him battling demons in the last book. His nightly nightmares were pretty bad.

He went through a lot when he was deployed on his last tour.

 

But… I did feel his POV went on a little too long. We don’t get new stuff until 62% in.

Don’t get me wrong. I thought it was ok to read Jace’s POV.

But, I was just really looking forward to reading more new stuff about everyone.

For me personally… I would have rather jumped right into the story. Right after their honeymoon or maybe a year after the wedding.

I really wanted more… Cara and Riley. Since the series started with them… I was kind of hoping we would get way more of them.

But, What little we did get of them.. I totally devoured it. The ending of the book just warmed my heart! and I was truly happy for Cara and Riley.

 

Overall… I liked his book. I just felt the beginning of the book wasn’t really necessary. I wish the story would have just picked up right when the last book left off. And I think the synopsis should say that this book was mostly a POV book from Boot’s Beneath My Bed. Because, there is only 38% of new stuff. And…That 38% felt kind of rushed.

 

I’m happy that everyone got their HEA.

 

* ARC provided by author for an honest review *

6565787
About this author


C.J. is a west coast native who has lived on both coasts and now lives near the middle, in Colorado! Coming from a family of writers and editors, she feels writing is in her blood and hopes people will lose themselves for a little while in the fantasy and fun of her stories. She also loves sweet red wine, the SF 49ers, and unlike most authors, doesn’t have any cats. When she’s not writing, she can be found chasing around her kids or working at her day job, which she totally feels interferes with her real life, but also sometimes gives her inspiration for her books, since reality is sometimes way more interesting than fiction.

She also loves getting notifications that people have sent her an email, added her on Facebook, or on Goodreads. So stop by and say hi – don’t be shy! She’s not! 🙂

cjpinardauthor@gmail.com
Leave a Reply

