Jumping In (ARe Alphas ) by Cardeno C. Review

23782977

Jumping In (ARe Alphas )

Stars: 3
Reviewed by:
Michelle
Synopsis:
An ARe Alphas Release!

When love’s on the line, the brave jump in with both feet…

Small town cop Clint Rivera can’t catch a break. His ex of two weeks is suddenly getting married, his dogs tore up his furniture, he’s getting evicted, and he’s out of beer. When he decides to solve his alcohol shortage by going to his ex’s engagement party, Clint winds up too drunk to drive himself home.

Enter gorgeous deputy mayor Hawk Black, the man who constantly shows up unexpectedly and sends Clint’s body and mind into a tailspin with nothing but his whiskey voice and blue eyes. After months of patience, Hawk can finally seduce the man he’s been craving.

Clint’s day might not have started out well, but Hawk’s going to make sure it ends with a bang, preferably in bed. He’ll show Clint some rewards are worth the risk. With love on the line, Clint will need to decide if he can open his heart, tear down his shields, and jump in with both feet.

IMG_1086
This was an ok read for me. I wish I could have liked it more. But….
There were just a lot of things in this book that are just not my favorite in stories. I’ll get to that in a bit.
I’ll start with what I liked about the book.
I liked Clint. He seemed like a nice guy. Has a bit of a temper. But… Overall a good guy.
I wish we would have gotten a little more drama from the ex. To kind of draw you in more. I felt like it was missing a little drama.
Hawk… Was a very intense guy. He knew what he wanted. He was just waiting for the right time to make his move. I liked how sure he was about the sex and the way he wanted his relationship to be with Clint. I just felt it was a little to fast with the “I love you’s”.
Now with what didn’t work for me.
I wasn’t feeling The way Sally was taking. I just didn’t care for it at all. I felt it brought the book down a notch for me.

I don’t like the fact that Clint got drunk off of four glasses of champagne and one whiskey. Clint’s a pretty big guy. And… the fact that 4 flute glasses of champagne (which is way less than a bottle of beer) and a tumbler glass of scotch (two fingers worth) brought down 180 pound man. If anything… He probably would have had a head change… Not  plastered!

And lastly…. The instant love between Clint and Hawk. This book was way to short for all of that. It just didn’t make sense to me. There just wasn’t enough time for all of that. Especially because it felt a bit all one sided! Clint just got out of a “relationship”. He was upset about it…yes…. But not heart broken about it.
What Clint and Hawk had was lust… Not love.
Overall…. This was a fast and easy read.
But ultimately… Was just an ok read for me.
*ARC Provided by author for an honest review*
4620386
About this author


Cardeno C. – CC to friends – is a hopeless romantic who wants to add a lot of happiness and a few “awwws” into a reader’s day. Writing is a nice break from real life as a corporate type and volunteer work with gay rights organizations. Cardeno’s stories range from sweet to intense, contemporary to paranormal, long to short, but they always include strong relationships and walks into the happily-ever-after sunset.

Heartwarming Stories. Strong Relationships. Forever Love.

Leave a Reply

